A Brand New Year, Coming Soon!

Standard

Today is the last day of 2016 and I couldn’t be more excited to leave this year behind and start over with a brand new blank year full of hope and new chances. 2016 has been both filled with blessings and trauma. By the end of the year, I have been so exhausted and ready to wash this year off of me. Every year on the 31st of December, I imagine all of us with an etch-a-sketch in our heads and heart; I watch as we all get shaken until we have a brand new clean slate to make new dreams and hopes on. 

I quit making resolutions quite a few years ago, I feel like they are end of the year promises that have this ability to stress me out and I get guilty for when I don’t follow through. Too much anxiety for me. Instead, I write a letter to the year I am leaving behind with all the pain, heartache, and drama that I endured for that time. I then set fire to this pretty little letter and let go of it all. I don’t want to start a new year with possible fake promises or ideas. I want a real fresh start that I can have hope in.

Do you have any different rituals for the end of the year? No resolutions, no fake promises. How do you let go of the year you’re leaving and move into the new year without any burdens?

Megan Riot

Leave a Reply

